Delta Kappa Reactivated at Marshall University

On Sunday, May 1, 2005, Delta Kappa Chapter was reactivated on the beautiful campus of Marshall University in Huntington, West Virginia. Delta Kappa was first chartered in May of 1945, so it is with great pleasure that the Fraternity announces the reactivation of this chapter.


Twelve undergraduate members were initiated into Delta Omicron as part of the reactivation. They include Minna Aminzadeh, Melanie Baldwin, Jessica Bethel, Angela Crum, Deanna Holderby, Amy Holliday, Callie Huff, Holly Linn, Meredith McCoy, Christina Riley, Ashli Spinks, and Nikki Winter. Susan Tams, Treasurer of the Delta Omicron Foundation, Inc. and a staff member at Marshall, served as the Board of Director’s representative to reactivate the chapter. She presented a certificate to the new members to commemorate the event.

Dr. Vicki Stroeher, a music faculty member at Marshall University and an alumna member of Delta Omicron, conducted the initiation. She was assisted by area Delta Omicron alumni Beverly Miller, Patricia Green, and Harriet Tucker of Huntington, West Virginia and Lee Ann Lykens of Beckley, West Virginia. Dr. Stroeher will serve as Chapter Adviser of Delta Kappa.

Following the initiation ceremony, new members performed a musicale featuring a flute duet and solo, a saxophone trio, and a trumpet duet. The group was later serenaded by the Marshall Phi Mu Alpha Chapter.

Delta Kappa will be affiliated with the Department of Music at Marshall University. Dr. Marshall Onofrio is Chair of the Department.